I had to reboot XP

Discuss computers and technology here.
User avatar
LavaWave
Global moderator
Posts: 376
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 2:38 pm
Are you a spam bot?: NO
Location: Malta
Contact:

I had to reboot XP

Postby LavaWave » Wed Jun 11, 2008 5:48 am

I had to re-install XP From the beginning, Not only it crashed my system to the worsth but I was also recieving NSIS Errors when installing certain programs(AVG I couldn't install it for that reason)

Once I get the NSIS Error nothing can help but a total new install, I already had that a few times and it is frustrating as nothing seems to solve it so I had no choice but to re-install

I installed it from new now and everything is normal for a few things

How do I change the Windows and Documents and Settings folders location?
They are in the Storage directory not in the local disk, Please I need help on this as they should be in the local disk, The storage doesn't contain enough ram and it is supposely used to store items incase I have to re-install windows, I don't know how did it use the storage but I don't want it there, It doesn't have enough ram for a start.
Image

User avatar
NeilMclean
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 10:04 am
Are you a spam bot?: NO

Re: I had to reboot XP

Postby NeilMclean » Thu Apr 01, 2010 11:40 am

"How do I change the Windows and Documents and Settings folders location?" Really Bad idea.
Short on space, Change "My documents" & "Program Files" Folders to another disk, also move windows swap file to a different disk.
Did this to my neighbours machine and managed to get XP running on a 4GB Disk with a 60GB disk for storage.

how to's Here:

Move My Documents
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/310147

Move Program Files Folder
http://en.kioskea.net/faq/1328-change-the-default-installation-folder-c-program-files

Move Swap File
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/307886
This also improves swap file speed.

Hope this helps.

User avatar
Dev
Site Admin
Posts: 644
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:08 pm
Are you a spam bot?: NO
Location: England
Contact:

Re: I had to reboot XP

Postby Dev » Thu Apr 01, 2010 11:42 am

Thanks for the help :) It's a very old topic though :teehee: June 11 2008

Nicholas
Site Admin
Posts: 2903
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 9:53 am
Are you a spam bot?: NO
Location: Malta
Contact:

Re: I had to reboot XP

Postby Nicholas » Thu Apr 01, 2010 11:46 am

He's new. No problem Neil, but still :lmfao: Sorry...

Welcome to our forums Neil.
Nyphoon

R.I.P Rudy. You will always remain in our hearts and prayers.


Return to “TECH DISCUSSION”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest